Whiskey 101: Scotch Whisky Regions

Whiskey 101: Scotch Whisky Regions

Whiskey 101: Scotch Whisky Regions

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

PhillyBite10Scotch Whisky Regions. For centuries the Scottish whisky industry has sub-divided the nation for tax purposes.

Over time, vague regional styles emerged and remain to some degree today. While the decisions made by the individual distiller have more impact on the subsequent whisky than does the distillery address, it is useful to familiarize yourself with Scotch Whisky’s regional styles:

  • Lowland whiskies are the most delicate and lightest in body. They do differ from other Scottish malts, as they are triple-distilled as opposed to double-distilled, as are all other Scotch malts.
  • Island malts, most notably Islay, are noted for their assertive notes of peat and notes of the sea. While these would logically be the toughest malts to get cozy with, they are presently wildly popular.
  • The Highland region encompasses the largest number of distilleries. It is commonly further sub-divided with the Speyside region being the most famous zone. Speyside malts are rich with malted barely flavors and noted for being slightly sweet and fruity.
  • Campbeltown, a dangling peninsula on the western coast was once a thriving distilling center but now it is home to just three distilleries.

Also See..


Latest Posts

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Sponsered Ads

Follow PhillyBite:

Follow Our Socials Below