Lansford, PA – On a recent field trip, students from a local school had the opportunity to explore the fascinating world of coal mining at the No. 9 Coal Mine and Museum. Through this educational journey into the region’s heritage, they learned about courage, resilience, and even some corporate greed that defined the miners’ lives.
No. 9 Coal Mine and Museum
The No. 9 Mine was first opened in 1855 by the Lehigh Coal and Navigation Company, with a large vein of Anthracite coal being its main focus of mining operations in the Panther Valley. After it was abandoned until 1992 when a local group took control of it, restoration work began in 1995, and tours inside started in 2002.
Visitors to the mine ride by rail 1,600 feet into the mountain before embarking on a 600-foot guided walking tour to examine original equipment, such as 700-foot-deep mine shafts and mule ways, and visit a miner’s hospital cut into solid rock. Outside on the grounds is an impressive museum that houses an extensive collection of mining artifacts, from tools to household goods and blasting equipment that belonged to miners who worked there. The museum also has a gift shop with books, carved coal pieces, and t-shirts, among other available goods.
The No. 9 Coal Mine and Museum is open from April to November from 10 AM till 4 PM, with discounts available for groups of 20 or more and seniors (65+), AAA members, and Veterans. The temperature in the mine remains near 50 degrees year round, so visitors should bring light jackets for their journey back in time!
For more information about No. 9 Coal Mine and Museum, please visit http://www.no9minemuseum.org or call (570) 645-7074